Department Administration


Christian Iliadis
J. Ross MacDonald Distinguished Professor
Department Chair
272 Phillips Hall
(919) 962-2079
iliadis@unc.edu

Laura Mersini-Houghton
Professor
Associate Chair of Development
264 Phillips Hall
(919) 962-4277
mersini@physics.unc.edu

Fabian Heitsch
Associate Professor
Director of Graduate Studies
292 Phillips Hall
(919) 962-3998
fheitsch@physics.unc.edu

Jonathan Engel
Professor
Associate Chair for Faculty Mentoring and Diversity
236 Phillips Hall
(919) 962-2619
engel@physics.unc.edu

Frank Tsui
Professor
Director of Undergraduate Studies
333 Chapman Hall
(919) 962-0305
ftsui@physics.unc.edu

Department Manager


Beverly Loftin
Business Manager
262 Phillips Hall
(919) 962-7167
bev1963@physics.unc.edu

Human Resources


Greg Smith
Human Resources Manager
274 Phillips Hall
(919) 962-4703
smithlg@email.unc.edu

Student Services


Jhon Cimmino
Academic Affairs Coordinator
280 Phillips Hall
(919) 962-2078
jhonc@email.unc.edu

Maggie Jensen
Graduate Affairs Coordinator
276 Phillips Hall
(919) 962-7173
mejensen@email.unc.edu

Research Administration and Accounting


Paige Tingen
Financial Services Manager
266 Phillips Hall
(919) 962-1177
ptingen@physics.unc.edu

Jeannie Cox
Research Associate
158 Phillips Hall
(919) 843-2629
jeanniec@unc.edu

Patina Herring
Accounting Technician
166 Phillips Hall
(919) 843-8424
paherrin@live.unc.edu

Cassandra Houston
Biophysics Administrative Assistant
164 Phillips Hall
(919) 962-4057
houstonc@physics.unc.edu

Gloria Kang
Accounting Technician
162 Phillips Hall
(919) 962-7174
gkang24@email.unc.edu

Antoinette Setari
Accounting Technician
170 Phillips Hall
(919) 962-7169
asetari@unc.edu

Administrative Support


Jean Baldwin
Administrative Support Associate
278 Phillips Hall
(919) 962-7172
baldwin1@physics.unc.edu

Janice Jackson
Executive Assistant to the Chair
270 Phillips Hall
(919) 843-4815
janice74@email.unc.edu

Research Staff


Shane Brogan
Introductory Lab Manager
201 Phillips Hall
(919) 843-4526
brogshan@physics.unc.edu

Thomas Caldwell
Real-Time Data Acquisition Software Developer
152 Phillips Hall
(919) 962-3260
tcald@unc.edu

Instrument Shop


Philip Thompson
Instrument Shop Supervisor
115 Phillips Hall
(919) 962-1183
philip@physics.unc.edu

Steve Medlin
Specialty Trades Technician
115 Phillips Hall
(919) 962-1183
lsmedlin@email.unc.edu

David Norris
Specialty Trades Technician
115 Phillips Hall
(919) 962-1183
jdnorris@email.unc.edu

Cliff Tysor
Specialty Trades Technician
115 Phillips Hall
(919) 962-1183
tysor@physics.unc.edu