Skip to main content

Department Administration


Frank Tsui
Professor
Department Chair
270 Phillips Hall
ftsui@physics.unc.edu

Rosa Tamara Branca
Associate Professor
Director of Undergraduate Studies
339 Chapman Hall
rtbranca@unc.edu

Fabian Heitsch
Professor
Director of Graduate Studies
292 Phillips Hall
fheitsch@physics.unc.edu

Sheila Kannappan
Professor
Associate Chair for Diversity and Mentoring
290 Phillips Hall
sheila@physics.unc.edu

Laura Mersini-Houghton
Professor
Associate Chair of Development
264 Phillips Hall
mersini@physics.unc.edu

Jennifer Weinberg-Wolf
Teaching Associate Professor
Associate Director of Undergraduate Studies
182 Phillips Hall
jweinberg@physics.unc.edu

Department Manager


Beverly Loftin
Business Manager
262 Phillips Hall
(919) 962-7167
bev1963@physics.unc.edu

Human Resources


Vacant
Human Resources Manager
274 Phillips Hall
(919) 962-4703

Research Administration and Accounting


Paige Tingen
Financial Services Manager
170 Phillips Hall
(919) 962-1177
ptingen@physics.unc.edu

Patina Herring
Accounting Technician
166 Phillips Hall
(919) 843-8424
paherrin@live.unc.edu

Cassandra Houston
Biophysics Administrative Assistant
164 Phillips Hall
(919) 962-4057
houstonc@physics.unc.edu

Shannon Rossi
Accounting Technician
168 Phillips Hall
(919) 962-7169
 sarossi@unc.edu

Student Services


Jhon Cimmino
Academic Affairs Coordinator
280 Phillips Hall
(919) 962-2078
jhonc@email.unc.edu

Maggie Jensen
Graduate Affairs Coordinator
276 Phillips Hall
(919) 962-7173
mejensen@email.unc.edu

Administrative Support


Jean Baldwin
Administrative Support Associate
278 Phillips Hall
(919) 962-7172
baldwin1@physics.unc.edu

Vacant
Executive Assistant to the Chair
270 Phillips Hall
(919) 843-4815

Research Staff


Shane Brogan
Teaching Lab Manager
186 Phillips Hall
(919) 843-4526
brogshan@physics.unc.edu

Thomas Caldwell
Real-Time Data Acquisition Software Developer
152 Phillips Hall
tcald@unc.edu

Tal Cohen
Electronics Research Engineer
010 Phillips Hall
 talc@email.unc.edu

Vladimir Kupriianov
Research Associate
vkoupr@email.unc.edu

Jarrett Whitworth
Holographic Optics Fabrication Scientist
128 Phillips Hall
 twhitwor@email.unc.edu

Lin Yang
Senior Research Scientist
  332 Chapman Hall
 lin.yang@unc.edu

Instrument Shop


Philip Thompson
Instrument Shop Supervisor
115 Phillips Hall
(919) 962-1183
philip@physics.unc.edu

William Harris
Machinist
115 Phillips Hall
(919) 962-1183
harrisw@email.unc.edu

David Norris
Specialty Trades Technician
115 Phillips Hall
(919) 962-1183
jdnorris@email.unc.edu

Cliff Tysor
Specialty Trades Technician
115 Phillips Hall
(919) 962-1183
tysor@physics.unc.edu