Skip to main content

Our local chapter of the Society of Physics Students (SPS) has won an Outstanding Chapter Award from the SPS National Office. This is the fourth consecutive time the chapter has been recognized for its excellence as a top-tier student-led physical sciences organization, a designation given to fewer than 10 percent of all SPS chapters at colleges and universities in the United States and internationally.

The Society of Physics Students (SPS) is a professional association designed for students and membership is open to anyone interested in physics and related fields. SPS operates within the American Institute of Physics (AIP), an umbrella organization for professional physical science societies.

The SPS chapter at UNC-CH is advised by Prof. Andrew Mann and is led by student officers. The 2020-2021 officers:​

President Giovani Leone, B.S. Physics, ’22
Vice President Isabella Ford, B.S. Computer Science, B.A. Physics, ’21
Secretary Tyler Kay, B.S. Physics, B.A. Philosophy, ’22
Treasurer Austin Blitstein, B.S. Physics, B.S. Mathematics, Chemistry Minor, ’22
Events Coordinator Megan Pramojaney, B.S. Physics, Creative Writing Minor, Applied Sciences and Engineering Minor, ’23
Room Manager Nathaniel Badgett, B.S. Physics (Astrophysics Option), ’22

SPS chapters are evaluated on their level of interaction with the campus community, the professional physics community, the public, and with SPS national programs. The Outstanding Chapter Award recognizes high levels of outreach as well as unique approaches to fulfilling the mission of SPS to “help students transform themselves into contributing members of the professional community.”

Comments are closed.