The UNC Chapel Hill chapter of the Society of Physics Students (SPS) has won an Outstanding Chapter Award from the SPS National Office. This is the first time the chapter has been recognized for its excellence as a top-tier student-led physical sciences organization, a designation given to fewer than 10 percent of all SPS chapters at colleges and universities in the United States and internationally.

The Society of Physics Students (SPS) is a professional association designed for students and membership is open to anyone interested in physics and related fields. SPS operates within the American Institute of Physics (AIP), an umbrella organization for professional physical science societies.

The SPS chapter at UNC Chapel Hill is advised by Professor Joaquin Drut and is led by student officers. The 2018-19 officers are:

President- Jeremy Low, Physics, ‘19
Vice President- Margie Bruff, Astrophysics, ‘20
Treasurer-Jared DeChant, Physics & Mathematics, ‘19
Room Manager-Charlie Mace, Physics & Mathematics, ‘20
Events Coordinator-Corey Pahel-Short, Physics, ‘20
Secretary-Isabella Ford, Astrophysics, ‘21

SPS chapters are evaluated on their level of interaction with the campus community, the professional physics community, the public, and with SPS national programs. The Outstanding Chapter Award recognizes high levels of outreach as well as unique approaches to fulfilling the mission of SPS to “help students transform themselves into contributing members of the professional community.”

Comments are closed.