Skip to main content

The annual Phillip and Ruth Hettleman Prizes for Artistic and Scholarly Achievement have been awarded to four promising faculty members who exemplify groundbreaking and innovative research along with future career promise. These faculty members will be recognized at the September Faculty Council meeting.

  • Dr. Nicholas Law (Physics and Astronomy, College of Arts and Sciences)
  • Dr. Alice Marwick (Communication, College of Arts and Sciences)
  • Dr. Daniel Matute (Biology, College of Arts and Sciences)
  • Dr. Cleo Samuel-Ryals (Health Policy and Management, Gillings School of Global Public Health)

Dr. Law is an experimental astrophysicist who works on building new astronomical instruments and uses them to search for and understand new astronomical phenomena. His research group is currently focused on ongoing science programs with the Evryscopes, the first all-sky gigapixel-scale telescopes.

To learn more about Dr. Law and his research group please visit

Comments are closed.