Skip to main content

Rodriguez awarded Warner prize from American Astronomical Society

January 11, 2024

  Carl Rodriguez, assistant professor of physics and astronomy, has been awarded the 2024 Helen B. Warner Prize from the American Astronomical Society. AAS recently announced its 2024 prizes for outstanding achievements in research and education at its 243rd meeting in New Orleans. … Read more

Congrats Phi Beta Kappa Inductees!

November 17, 2023

Phi Beta Kappa, the nation’s oldest and most honored college honorary society, inducted 259 University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill students as new members. Less than 1% of all college students qualify for acceptance. Past and present Phi Beta … Read more

Congratulations SPS National Council Inductee

September 20, 2023

The SPS National Council is proud to announce the 2023-24 SPS and Sigma Pi Sigma Council! Em Chittenden of the University of North Carolina-Chapel Hill is now the Associate Zone Councilor. Chittenden will represent the Physics and Astronomy Department in … Read more

Rubin Prize Winner – Carl Rodriguez

May 25, 2023

The American Astronomical Society’s Division on Dynamical Astronomy (DDA) is pleased to announce that the 2023 recipient of the Vera Rubin Early Career Award is Dr. Carl Rodriguez of the University of North Carolina, for his novel and sustained contributions to our understanding of dynamics of … Read more

Congratulations Phi Beta Kappa Inductees

May 12, 2023

Congratulations to our two Physics and Astronomy majors that have been inducted into Phi Beta Kappa: Abigail Hailey Dunnigan Andrew Hanan Mattson And a minor: Rachel Elizabeth Emrick 219 students were inducted into Phi Beta Kappa at UNC-Chapel Hill. Past … Read more

Retired Faculty Association Leadership Award: Tom Clegg

May 4, 2023

The RFA Executive Committee is pleased to announce the selection of four outstanding recipients of the 2023 RFA Leadership Award. Originally established to recognize those who provided leadership to the Retired Faculty Association, eligibility was expanded in 2013 to include … Read more